Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 93 – Friday

Ena - Day 93

Ena: Wow.  Well, I wish that I wasn’t too busy to tell you about this lovely lavender skirt that I picked up at the Palm Desert Goodwill and how much I adore it.  Sadly, I am, and the pictures don’t really do it the justice it deserves.  It’s a great skirt, I think I’ll get a lot of use out of it and I’m glad that I bought it.  I am also wearing a jean jacket that I purchased at one of the many thrift stores my Grandma and I visited during that Palm Springs trip; it’s perfect, exactly what I’d been searching for for quite some time.

I also wish that I wasn’t too busy to tell you what a wonderful time my boyfriend and I had at Dodger Stadium yesterday for opening day.  Everything was perfect; the weather, the company, the final score.  Unfortunately I am too busy to properly mark the occasion or go into the enormity of this event and all the psychological mumbo-jumbo it represents, but today I am showing more bare leg at work than I ever have before, more than I would have ever thought myself capable of revealing.  This is pretty big.

I am very happy to report that I will be out of the office on Monday.  I am going to Las Vegas for a bachelorette party.  My oldest friend is getting married this summer, so, to celebrate, this weekend a group of 9 girls will occupy a 2-bedroom suite at the Palms; we will shop, we will dine, we will drink, we will swim, we will dance, we will laugh.  I am so unbelievably excited.  This is also pretty big.

Bina - Day 93

Bina: So yeah, that game was crazy. The Mavericks lost, which was a huge bummer, especially since I made a jersey bet with my coworker, JP.  I told him we’d have to wait until the blog was over before I wear his stupid purple and gold. Dammit. Oh, well!

The reason I started rooting for the Mavs, of course, goes back to childhood. My brother, Bikrum, has always been the biggest Mavs fan I know. No fair-weather fan, he always roots for them, despite their record or playoff chances. He wore a big puffy Mavs jacket to middle school even when they only won 11 games in an entire season! That’s dedication. Or passion, I suppose.

Speaking of someone with intense passion, everyone really hates on the owner, Mark Cuban, quite a bit. I understand the man is eccentric, loud, and annoying; but he does do a lot for the fans. Once, shortly after Cuban bought the team; my family was selected from the nosebleed section to sit courtside; they pick a family at every game. Also, while my brother was in college, his lung spontaneously collapsed; I wrote to Mark Cuban. He sent us tickets,  signed T-shirts and hats. Once, there was an ice storm in Dallas and we had tickets to a game; I wrote to Cuban – he gave us new tickets for another day. The guy may be overzealous and a little nuts, but he does answer his email!

The Dallas Mavericks are certainly not “America’s team.” People dislike the Mavs for a variety of reasons; sportscasters call them “soft”; they can become easily frustrated when things don’t go their way. I love them all the same. Maybe they remind me of myself, only I haven’t punched anyone in the nuts.

Anyway, I picked out this thrifted shirt because I like the cranes. They remind me of a time when my mother was making a Senbazuru, or a thousand origami paper cranes held together by string. Japanese legend says that anyone who folds a thousand paper cranes will be granted a wish by a crane. Her wish was for my Dad to stop drinking; it took a while but it did finally come true. Maybe Mark Cuban should get to folding, and step away from the microphone.

*As Ena will be out of the office on Monday, and we are so close to Day 100, our next post will be on Tuesday!

3 responses to “Day 93 – Friday

  1. Mieko Chauhan April 2, 2011 at 8:15 pm

    I love your crane shirt! I think the colour combinations (shirt, shorts, and shoes) are perfect!!

  2. Queen of Mayhem April 3, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    I adore both of your shoes!!!

  3. squibbohere April 5, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Bina – cool, fresh look!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

