Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 1 – Monday

Ena: Standing in front of my closet this morning, the high that I had felt since Bina and I decided to put this plan into action began to fade, and by the time I was trying on my third outfit, my feelings of excitement and anticipation had become feelings of panic and dread.  This probably sounds like an exaggeration.  Trust me, it’s not.

Since high school I have been sporting a style which a dear friend lovingly refers to as “dorm room chic,” and though I have made many attempts – if purchasing clothes without actually wearing them counts as an attempt – to change my style, they have so far been unsuccessful.  I am in a vicious style-rut perpetuated by laziness, ignorance, and fear.

I wouldn’t call the outfit that I eventually walked out of the house wearing today “stylish” but it took infinitely more planning and effort than the outfit I was wearing last Friday (see Before), so I guess that’s a start.  I am not happy with what I am wearing today and the disappointment that I feel based on my inability to dress myself has made this a very bad day, foreshadowing what is sure to be a very rough week.

“That which does not kill us makes us stronger.”  “No pain, no gain.”  “When in doubt, wear red.”  We’ll see…


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bina: I woke up earlier than usual this morning. I’m not a morning person. Usually, I hit the snooze button until the only time I am allotted is used for taking a quick shower, brushing teeth, finding comfy clothes to throw on, and pulling my hair into a ponytail or messy bun.

This time, I planned my outfit the night before. I got up at 7:15 so I would have time to shower, accessorize, and do my hair and makeup. One of my friends was staying with me and I had told her about The Plan. She was fully on-board and said maybe she should do a guest entry! Yes please. As I fussed over myself in the bedroom, she said “I hear heels!”  I usually wear Chucks or flats to work so this was a big step for me.

It wasn’t so bad. And I feel pretty. Slightly less comfortable but pretty.  Also, leave it to me to wear a short, flowy dress on a high-wind advisory day.

5 responses to “Day 1 – Monday

  1. Cheeles November 9, 2010 at 12:27 am

    Ladies, I support your cause, and am inspired by it. Bina, I hope you aren’t wearing striped cat panties on this high wind advisory day.

  2. Mrs.Chew November 9, 2010 at 7:28 am

    This is amazing you look great I love the booties!!!!

  3. Emily November 9, 2010 at 9:12 pm

    As a fellow “almost” 30 year old…I truly feel your pain! Bina/Ena (haha) I am loving your blog concept. Can’t wait to see this play out.
    P.S. Bina-I love this look on you!

  4. Raina C. November 11, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Bina! you should default one of these pics too..I love this outfit..but I also love the outfit u defaulted now..

Leave a Reply

