Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 2 – Tuesday



Ena - Day Two

Ena: Today was a little easier than yesterday and this is strange, but I think it’s because I took more of a fashion risk.  I was so inspired by Bina’s tremendous efforts yesterday (not to mention completely jealous of how cute she looked) that I decided to venture further outside of my comfort zone – today I accessorized.   Small potatoes?  Not for me.

My effort has not gone unnoticed, and, while slightly gratifying, this is one of the things I fear the most.  Imagine that you work with me.  Every day I show up to work wearing jeans, flip-flops, a t-shirt, and a cardigan – no seriously, every day…for four years.  Then suddenly one day I show up wearing trousers, flats, a blouse (tucked in!), the same cardigan (baby steps), and jewelry; your natural reaction is to wonder what the hell is going on and to ask me, “Why so dressed up?” or “What’s the occasion?” or to proclaim, “Wow, you look professional.”  If I ever wear a skirt to work, they’ll probably throw a parade.  Welcome to my hell.

I have to admit that I do feel pretty good about myself today, and, aside from the commentary and the time that it’s taking me to put myself together before leaving the restroom, I am optimistic about the results of this plan.  Of course, that could all change tomorrow.

Bina - Day Two

Bina: I woke up at 7:30 to begin the process of looking presentable. I was a little less excited about it  – second day slump I suppose.  I decided this time I wanted to be warmer since I was freezing yesterday in my dress.

My outfit’s okay. It’s nothing that out of the ordinary, but I at least put a little thought into the putting together of things, and I wore boots instead of Chucks.  But the make-up and accessories really do seem to make all the difference.  I still have a lot to learn about accessorizing – I’m no Rachel Zoe – but I think I did alright.

I noticed throughout the day that I feel more confident connecting with people.  I feel more comfortable with eye contact with strangers, and I might actually smile at them. I’m getting checked out more. As someone who never notices that kind of thing, today I tried to be aware, and in some cases it was pretty obvious. Men aren’t too subtle. While I don’t enjoy a hissing cat call, sometimes a whistle or a long backwards glance can do wonders for your self-esteem. Today, I needed it.

Lunchtime yoga is one of my new favorite things to get me through the day. Undressing and re-dressing took slightly more work than usual but nothing crazy, and after class, with my boost of confidence, I decided to let my messy chignon be free and untamed a la Carrie Bradshaw. Tonight, I have a dinner planned with friends and it’s nice to know that come 6:00 pm, I don’t have to go throw on some makeup in the bathroom – I’m ready to go.

*Click on images below to enlarge :)

2 responses to “Day 2 – Tuesday

  1. Emily November 9, 2010 at 9:19 pm

    Your blog is making me feel rather hopefull about my passionless life!
    Ena- liking the tuck and necklace. Way to step it up!

  2. Mrs.Chew November 10, 2010 at 8:01 am

    WOW Ena you look ahhhhmmmmaaaazzzziiinnnggg!!! Love the Color combo with the Grey and pop of the blue. Super Cute. Office Ready!!!

Leave a Reply

