Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 5 – Friday

Ena: I am kind of wearing a dress today.  That’s all I have to say on the subject.

Ok, Friday.  The first week is over.  I survived.  Instead of dwelling on the nervous nauseous feeling that I get when I think about Monday – day six – I will focus on the positive things that came out of this first week…there were some, right?  No, seriously, I’m thinking.

I’m not going to lie, this week has been far more challenging than fun, and I feel as though I’ve spent much of it uncomfortable, insecure, and disgruntled.  Valuable lessons have been learned though, so I guess it hasn’t been a complete fiasco.  I have learned not to plan too much or too little.  I have learned the tremendous benefits of getting out of bed just a half an hour earlier.  I have learned that I cannot accept a compliment.  And, I have learned that it is really difficult to wear stripes.  Really.

These are all lessons that I will take with me into next week with the hope that it will be just a little less difficult, though I’m not counting on it.  After this first week, one thing is clear; this will definitely be a project.  But, I guess I shouldn’t sound so down, I don’t want to give off the wrong impression.  I am terribly optimistic.  I really am.

Bina: I took a big fashion risk for me today – COWBOY BOOTS.  These boots were a hand-me down years ago from a lady who said that every girl from Texas should own cowboy boots.  I haven’t worn them in years.  I changed shoes several times before I decided, the hell with it, I’m wearing these goddamn cowboy boots and so be it if I look like a Hee-Haw cast member.  I took down my ponytail.  Maybe that would help me look less like a hillbilly.  Okay, yes, that helped a little.

As I walked in the first gate at work, a man on some kind of large machine stopped, looked at me, and gave me the a-ok sign with his hand.  Whew.  I was fearing mockery on all sides, but everyone seemed to like the boots.  I think they go well with my dress – from the $20 rack at Native!  Ena assured me I didn’t look like I was on my way to a hootenanny and I settled into my look. And…I like my look today! I feel comfortable and cute – the best of both worlds, finally!

So week one is done, and I’m finding it easier to wake up earlier.  Time to clean out the closet this weekend and see what other potential treasures I might possess which haven’t been worn in some time.  I’m hopeful that at some point this will get easier for me, that getting dressed to impress will become second nature. I realize to some this whole process/blog seems frivolous and petty. There are far greater concerns in the world than what the hell two neurotic girls are wearing.  We’re just trying to jump start the passion back into our lives. And at least I feel passionate about that.

 

6 responses to “Day 5 – Friday

  1. Raina C. November 12, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    For a second I though Justena was a different person..lol! Bina- I love the cowboy boots totally cute..there are these motorcycle looking boots at Steve Madden that I really want..that would look good with a hippie short sundress and headwrap..but Its not really a me thing..so I dont know why i want them..maybe u can wear and tell me how it works out : )….Ena–I think you have this whole Audrey Hepburn thing going on..I think I like it..that might be your look!

    • BinaKumari November 12, 2010 at 5:11 pm

      Thanks, Raina! Yeah, I want to get some vintage flat 90s booties and some motorcycle boots too – why can’t I win the lottery??? But yes, those are on my wishlist! A headwrap seems pretty ambitious! Not sure if I can pull that off, but maybe I’ll try!

  2. Mom November 12, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    Loved Bina’s cowboy boots! I went through my own nervousness the first time I wore mine to work! Ena, you are not neurotic…well, ok, maybe a touch :-)

  3. Mieko Chauhan November 12, 2010 at 10:13 pm

    Short dress with cowboy boots, I think it’s so cute!! Doesn’t it make you feel like dancing “Electric slide”? :) Both of you have a short dress look today (with cowboy boots or leggins), and look so lovely!! Short dress with leggins are so big in Japan now. Good job coordinating everything this week!

  4. Mrs.Chew November 23, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Ok let me say I haven’t been checking up on you fab ladies so I’m reading every post today. Ena- Dress!!! You did and you did it well. :) Bina- COWBOY BOOTS!!! you hit the trendsetter status, I have been researching trends cuz thats how boring I am and Cowboy boots are all the rage!!! To both of you: Keep it up, always go with your gut and enjoy in the feeling of looking good :)

Leave a Reply

