Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 6 – Monday

Ena - Day Six

Ena: Week two!  That’s enthusiasm, something I’m finding difficult to convey in written communication.  Almost immediately after Friday’s post, and over the weekend, I felt that perhaps I was coming off a bit too…negative?  Hopeless?  Defeatist?  It’s true that this isn’t easy for me, but I never thought it would be.  It’s getting easier – no, that’s a lie; it isn’t yet, but it will.  Please, bear with me.

There are some things about this project that I am really enjoying.  No, seriously.  Bina and I have been laughing quite a lot lately and we’re getting a chance to work on our iPhone photography skills, something that’s bound to come in handy later.  Also, it has been nice walking around the office knowing that I don’t look like I just wandered out of hibernation.

Week one made it very clear to me that I am terribly afraid of looking foolish, a major obstacle to taking fashion risks – or risks of any kind for that matter.  Hopefully this project will not only teach me the benefits (both inward and outward) of caring about my appearance, but also help me become more comfortable with taking risks in all areas of my life…all areas of my life except those which involve jumping out or off of high things; I’m going for courageous, not crazy.

Unfortunately, making riskier fashion choices requires one thing that I just don’t have – money.  I need more clothes.  Bina was kind enough to help me sift through the contents of my closet which are so boring the task almost put us both to sleep.  Now that I know what I’ve got – and more importantly, what I need – the next step is filling in the holes (figuratively and literally, as most of my clothes have actual holes) with tons of cheap and chic clothes.  Easy.  Well, we’ll see…just as soon as I get paid.

Bina - Day Six

Bina: This weekend, I attempted to work a little on the Passion side of things while I gave my wardrobe a rest.  Oh, the comfort of a white t-shirt and faded jeans – what bliss!!! Okay, I’m getting carried away.  Anyway, since this is all about transforming our lives, I decided I needed to try to do a couple things for my heart.  I went for a hike. I went to brunch.  I went window shopping and saw 127 Hours with a friend. And I volunteered for Operation Gratitude. All of these things fed my soul. And OMG, I highly recommend 127 Hours.  Talk about passion. Jiminy Christmas.

I also cleaned out my closet.  Always a cathartic experience.  So now I have a better idea of what is going on in there. And it’s not too bad.  Now I am mostly coveting some new shoes, belts, and cozy cardigans to spruce things up.

As for this morning, my body decided to wake me up at 3:30am. And not go back to sleep. So that was fun.  I laid there for a long time, then I watched a couple of episodes of My Boys on DVD, and got up and into the shower at 7:15.  I think I’m getting the hang of the whole hair and make-up routine.  An interesting tidbit since I began this experiment – I am much more punctual to work. Go figure.

My Mom and I had a great conversation on the phone last night about this experiment. My mother is the kind of woman who always looks fabulous – she wouldn’t leave the house any other way.  She’s always tried to get me to be this kind of woman – and while I can get dolled up for special occasions like a semi-pro, I struggle with the day-to-day upkeep.  And when I look around at most women, at work or at the mall or wherever, I mostly see women who don’t give a shit how they look.  Like me on most days, they look like they rolled out of bed and grabbed whatever comfortable albeit ill-fitting pieces of clothing were nearby and said “fuck it.”  I have no problem with this, as long as you’re happy.  However, my mother says that it’s much more charitable to society as a whole if we all make a little effort and give each other something pretty to look at.

Anyway, I wanted to wear this dress today because my mother gave it to me from her last visit to Japan and I very aggressively talked her into giving me the trench coat. Thanks, Mom!

One response to “Day 6 – Monday

  1. Mieko Chauhan November 15, 2010 at 9:51 pm

    Hello beautiful girls!! Ena, I love the colour combination of black and hot pink. It is really classy!
    Bina, I am glad that you chose this dress among all the dresses I brought from Japan. Seems like this dress looks happier that you are wearing it! lolll. I love your trench coat of course! :) Mostly I love to see you guys look so pretty and nice!! and make me happy! I am sure a lot of people are appreciated when they see you guys!! :)

Leave a Reply

