Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Inspiration: JP

This is JP.  He is another coworker who inspires us every day with his daring fashion choices, good attitude, and positive energy.  JP has been known to come to work wearing velvet blazers, scarves, cardigans, and Lakers hats (we’ll forgive him that last one), and he never shies away from color, including those colors most men fear, like purple, teal, and bright orange.  Before you even ask, no, he is heterosexual.

Not only does JP inspire us with his bold fashion choices, he rallies us to good deeds with his spirit of giving.  This month he has decided to donate his face to raising awareness about cancers that affect men, committing to the growth of a moustache for the entire month of November as part of the Movember campaign.  This cause is particularly meaningful to JP whose father battled – and survived – prostate cancer.  If you’d like to help JP with this cause, click here and donate online using your credit card or PayPal account.  The money raised will help make a tangible difference to the lives of others, through the world’s most promising prostate cancer research and LIVESTRONG’s programs that support young adults and their families battling and surviving cancer.

JP agreed to let us take his picture and told us what inspires his style and what dressing well means to him in the hopes that one of the 5 people who read this blog might contribute to his campaign.  Thanks JP, for all the inspiration.  It is truly a pleasure working with you, though it will be more of a pleasure when we don’t have to stare at your moustache.  Good luck!

JP

JP: I was going through a tough time personally which affected my attitude and appearance at work.  I wasn’t happy with myself nor my career; consequently, I didn’t care about my appearance or my dress code. I grew out my hair/beard and wore shorts, sandals, and rock t-shirts every day to work.  Sometimes I would have to interact with execs which made me feel very embarrassed, but because I didn’t care, I wouldn’t make a change.

This lasted about two years.  One day, one of my co-workers told me, “JP you are a very smart guy – what are you still doing here working as an assistant? You have the potential for better opportunities, but let me make you aware that your appearance is not going to get you anywhere.” That’s when I realized that if I wanted to start feeling happy about myself and my career I needed it to start somewhere, and my appearance was the first thing.  I started dressing in slacks, ties, and dressy shirts; I also cut my hair and shaved the beard off.  Since then, my life has completely changed and I can say that I’m in a very happy place now.

It’s always important to be happy with ourselves in order to be successful in life whether it’s in regard to health, richness, or just simply being happy. Success is measured by our own personal standards/goals, but your appearance and the way you carry yourself will be the way people will distinguish you.  Lastly, smiling (you notice I always smile) will release positive energy; you also never know who is falling in love with it.

 

2 responses to “Inspiration: JP

  1. Raina C. November 17, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    I liek that you do different stuff with your hair..it looks really cute..maybe one day u can try the whole wavy hair thing…like your mom did…u could try to look up a hair how to video on youtube..I always look up how to do kim kardashian makeup tutorial videos…

  2. Raina C. November 17, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    oopss I meant to write that under the previous day..lol

Leave a Reply

