Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 12 – Tuesday

Ena: Today I experienced the magical powers of fashion.  I woke up this morning groggy, grumpy, and absolutely dreading getting ready for work.  I’m pretty sure that lack of sleep and cold dreary weather are to blame for my lack of enthusiasm, but all I wanted to do was crawl into a worn pair of jeans, a warm hoodie, and slip on a pair of old Vans over thick wool socks.  However, fearing the negative reactions of all 5 of our readers, I mustered up the strength to leave the house wearing something a little better.

The power of the mob is almost as amazing as the power of fashion.  Immediately after dressing, I began to feel better; my bad mood literally seemed to melt away and I felt excited to get to the office.  I’m not exaggerating.  I’m not trying to sound all raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens – I should hope you know me well enough to know that I am almost incapable of that – I am completely serious.  It seems that there really is something to our hypothesis after all.  I’ll be contacting the editors at Popular Science directly after writing this – watch out for an upcoming feature.

The shirt I am wearing today is another Goodwill purchase.  It is quite feminine and detailed – though you don’t really get the full effect from the pictures – and I think it’s a really unique piece that I can wear with lots of things…at least, that’s what I think.  Either that or it’ll end up back at the Goodwill.  Only time will tell.

Bina: Oh boy. I’m really out of my comfort zone today, and it has not gone unnoticed.  We had a staff meeting this morning.  I left the room momentarily to fetch a co-worker, and when I returned, all eyes were on me.  How embarrassing! Luckily, Ena was in the room to report the statements made back to me, including the fact that they don’t even recognize me anymore, and that I “have it going on.” Ha! One coworker told me I look like a teacher, and another said I look stern.  Anyway, I got really embarrassed as they all seemed to be wondering why I was suddenly dressing like this and I just said I was “trying out a new look.” A school marm look, apparently.

My blouse, pants, and shoes are all from the field trip that Ena and I took over the weekend to the Goodwill  (blouse $5, pants $6, shoes $8).  The scarf is from Forever 21.  I like the color.  I realized looking back through the blog that I don’t wear a lot of bright colors.  Ena is better at that, but she shies away from prints.  So over the next few weeks, I think we both plan on experimenting more in these areas.

I’m not sure how I feel about what I’m wearing – but at least I took a risk, something I should do more often in all areas of my life!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

