Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Daily Archives: November 29, 2010

Day 14 – Monday

Ena - Day 14

Ena: Well, Thanksgiving is over but the holiday season is just beginning; I’m not sure what that has to do with anything but it’s a fact.  I hope that everyone had a nice Thanksgiving.  My holiday was very nice, though I was unable to participate in any Black Friday madness in person – believe it or not, something I look forward to all year – and the lack of worthwhile deals available online was depressing to say the least.  I hope that others were able to take advantage of the day and find some great opportunities to save.

Monday again and while I am no less thankful than I was last week I am not, you will note, looking that way in today’s post.  I have decided to abandon the plan to appear happy; if the camera happens to catch me smiling, great, if not, also great.  I’m sure we can all deal with it.

Today I am wearing an item of clothing that I have time and again proclaimed to be the most horrifying and unflattering of clothes – pleated pants (gasp!).  This morning, Bina and I were recollecting a time when I suggested – jokingly, of course – that anyone caught manufacturing and/or selling pleated pants should be shot.  I’ve certainly come a long way since making that statement, or sunk to a new low…it’s difficult to tell these days.

Bina - Day 14

Bina: I woke up in the morning and had to coax myself to get up out of bed for a good half-hour. I feel like the wind-up doll in those anti-depressant commercials who has to wind herself up to get through the day.  Needless to say, I am having a low day. While I’m sure my hormones are playing a pretty big part in how awful I am feeling right now, I know it’s also partially the holiday season and feeling lonely and knowing I will soon be going home to many questions from the Indian side of my family such as “When are you moving back to Texas?” and “What happened to that boy you were dating?” and “When are you gonna get married?” and “Can we arrange your marriage NOW?” Oof.  I don’t know when the hell I’m gonna get married so get off my back, family, please!  Frankly, it’s not my biggest concern right now. My biggest concern is learning how to love myself.  As lame and EatPrayLove-ish as that may sound, it’s the truth. But try telling that to your Indian auntie.

This morning, all I wanted was protection and warmth. So I wrapped myself up in this sweater and have been trying to smile through it. I really didn’t feel like attempting cuteness today but I did anyway.  And so far the best part of my day has been when Ena and I laughed at how lackluster we both felt about our pictures.  Laughing is good. It helps. Sorry to be such a downer but I’m attempting honesty on this thing, even if it’s not pretty.  But at least I look a little better than I feel…