Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 16 – Wednesday

Ena - Day 16

Ena: This is just not my week.  Seriously.  I think that I’m still a little under the weather; I’m tired, grumpy, unmotivated, and I feel – and look – like poo.  Baahhh!

Is there anything more to say?  Do I really have to say anything else?  Well, I could have shown up to work today wearing a sweatshirt, jeans, socks, sneakers, and a headband (actually, that’s not true – I hate headbands), but I didn’t.  Accomplishment?  Triumph?  Perseverance?  Whatever.

My only hope is that I am not the only one who has days like this.  I’m not, right?  I hope that people can relate to what I am going through right now.  I hope that my struggles just might inspire something in someone else.  I hope that people get as big a kick out of these hideous pictures as I do…at the very least, I hope that.

Bina

Bina: So I’m feeling a little better, albeit still a bit fragile.  My friend Kristin wrote me with concern this morning that my latest heartbreak seemed to be taking a toll on my self-esteem, and Ena said it seemed ironic that the whole point of this was to make us feel better, and now I seem to be feeling worse.  I am hoping that maybe it’s a bit like when people have to take Accutane and the doctor says the acne will get worse before it gets better.  Maybe I’m just getting rid of some residual bad energy and once I get through this time, I’ll start feeling better. We’ll see.

As for what I’m wearing, I would have never put this outfit on if not for this project.  From the tights to the waist-cinching belt, the level of discomfort would be far too high for me to tolerate on a regular basis.  But as this skirt was purchased at the Goodwill for $5, I decided I’d better make use of its great color today.  And here’s a few highlights from my day:

Renah said this is her favorite look that I’ve put together so far.  She said she was proud of me. Yay!

I walked out of the studio store and an older lady who I do not know stopped and said “You look so nice!”

A friend from another department saw me and said “Damn, girl, you look so cute and stylish! I didn’t even know it was you!”

Ena and I took a walk to get her dry-cleaning on the other side of the lot.  As we walked by numerous hunky crewmen working, taking breaks, and driving forklifts, we couldn’t help but notice their interest as we passed.  Mission accomplished, I suppose, though I just realized my shirt might be a little transparent. Whoopsie. It still helped boost my self-esteem!

One response to “Day 16 – Wednesday

  1. Laura December 2, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    Hooray for self esteem boosts!

Leave a Reply

