Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 20 – Tuesday


Ena - Day 20

Ena: Drum roll, please.  Today I am wearing a skirt.  To work.  This may seem like an ordinary occurrence, a mundane event, certainly not an occasion deserving of a drum roll.  And it’s true, thousands of people wear skirts every day to offices all over the world, I just do not happen to be one of them…well, until now.  Seriously, this is huge.

This skirt comes from my purchased-but-not-worn collection and until this morning had been hanging in my closet tags intact for the better part of a year.  I won’t lie, – at least not about this – while I am not completely unhappy with the way I look, I am thoroughly uncomfortable.  The extremely high waist on the skirt, the very lovely but very high shoes, and the strangely constructed crotch of the tights have banded together to wage a full scale attack on my body, and, sadly, though not unexpectedly, my body doesn’t stand a chance.

Besides bodily discomfort, I am also extremely uncomfortable with the looks I am receiving from…well, everyone…but we’ve all heard that song and dance before so I really don’t need to go into it again, do I?  On a lighter note, and further to yesterday’s post, I am happy to report that I put some serious – though possibly futile – effort into striking a balance between professional and stylish attire.  This is most definitely a challenge, but one I feel I’m up for.  Stay tuned.

One last thing.  While I have made a very bold and brave fashion choice today, it has also been very stupid and ill timed.  Bina has persuaded me to take part in another harebrained scheme (she should have been a lawyer or a hostage negotiator, really), and I find myself about to embark on the construction of a gingerbread house, in an outfit comprised entirely of dryclean-only items; not very bright.   We are not – or were not – considered joiners around our office, and participating in the gingerbread house contest was seen as a way to change that, though why we wanted to change that I’m still not sure.  Oh well, how bad can it be?

Bina - Day 20

Bina: How is it only Day 20? I feel like I’ve been dressing up for a year.  Holy Canolli.

“What would it be like to be the kind of person who participates in the office Gingerbread House Contest?” This is the question I asked myself last week, when the President’s Assistant came around, coercing people into joining in the holiday festivities.  I am about to find out what it is like to be that kind of person because I coerced Ena into another harebrained scheme – Operation Gingerbread.  Please note I have never made a Gingerbread House in my life. But today is the day I attempt my very first one.  Jeans were imperative.  I built the rest from there, including my Forever 21 scarf and shirt (respectively $3.50 and $2.99).  I’m pretty stoked I got to wear my arm band today and that I’m getting more use out of these cowboy boots.

We discovered the only other two teams participating in this Gingerbread throw-down are made up of semi-professional bakers and cake decorators.  WTF.  While attempting to spy on one of our competitors in the conference room, we couldn’t help but notice just how gigantic their creation was.  We’re trembling in our booties, people.  Here’s hoping we can present a respectable third-place.  Ena says “Maybe we’ll win!”  Haha…maybe…we’ll post the pics of our modest creation tomorrow.

One response to “Day 20 – Tuesday

  1. Mom December 7, 2010 at 4:25 pm

    Ena, you look fabulous! So, a word to you young 30 somethings…coming from a 50 something who also used to be annoyed by looks and the occassional catcall….enjoy it while you’re young…seriously! (Ena, I’m guessing the looks were positve…??)

Leave a Reply

