Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 21 – Wednesday


Ena - Day 21

Ena: Librarian chic.  Peter Pan chic.  Girl Scout chic.  Diane Keaton chic.  Woody Allen chic.  Diane Keaton in a Woody Allen movie chic.  These are all phrases – most of which I’m pretty sure I just made up – that pop into my head every time I look at myself today.  And, as strange as this may sound, I couldn’t be happier with my outfit.  Um, that might not be entirely true, but I’m gonna go with it.

I am in love with these pants.  It was love at first sight really, though our six year relationship has not always been what it should.  Despite my love and best intentions, these pants have spent most of the past six years hanging in the back of closets with the other thoroughly neglected pieces of my wardrobe.   It’s a wonder Social Services hasn’t turned up at my front door…yet.

Lack of compatible tops is my excuse for not having absolutely worn out these pants by now.  For obvious reasons – like my very light complexion and my tendency to go albino and disappear – I do not own white tops.  So, it was with these pants in mind that I purchased this round-collared uniform shirt on our Goodwill trip a few weeks back, and maybe it’s my Catholic school past, but I really like it.

Some things I do not like – and this goes for all button-up shirts – about it are as follows: stiffness, unsightly (and sometimes inappropriately revealing) gaping, unruly button alignment, wrinkling, having to readjust every time I sit or stand…or move.  Whenever I wear a button-up shirt tucked in it’s the same thing.  Maybe I’m doing it wrong.  I see other people wearing them all the time and with apparent success.  How?  Figuring out how to wear a tucked in button-up shirt while looking fashionable, comfortable, and stylish is like figuring out how to crack the Da Vinci Code…or use html…or become a successful blogger…or learning to dress yourself…oh, never mind.

Bina - Day 21

Bina: This project is simultaneously getting easier and harder.  I’m now fairly used to the idea of waking up earlier to make myself look at least presentable.  It’s pushing my style envelope that is proving more difficult.  I’m going to have to get more creative. I have been trying to follow a few fashion blogs for inspiration.  I’ve never really followed style trends too closely – I love seeing what celebrities are wearing and all, but generally when I shop, I just pick out things I think are cute, and which are usually on sale. I realized I have quite a few clothes still hanging in my closet that I don’t really wear, or wear very rarely.  I guess for the past few years, I’ve been continuously defaulting back to the same jeans, t-shirts, hoodies, and Chucks, and leaving the rest for dead.

Yesterday’s jeans did prove helpful in the completion of the aforementioned Gingerbread House.  The whole thing was highly amusing – from people’s comments as they found me panicking over my mixed cement icing in the kitchen to crumbling graham crackers all over our office, we couldn’t stop laughing.  Okay, so maybe making gingerbread houses won’t be my new passion, but that’s okay.  It was fun and I’m proud of us for doing it at all.  It’s all about the journey, not the destination – which in our case is a mid-century modern shanty.  Won’t you come in?

As for today, I’m not crazy about how I look.  This baby doll dress was bought in Little Tokyo a couple summers ago. It bothers me how the top part doesn’t go under my boobs (a common problem for me, especially with cheap clothes).  And I feel like I look fat.  Taking these pictures is actually really helpful in seeing where I go wrong and what works.  It’s like a harsh reality mirror. They can’t all be winners.  But let’s all just enjoy the fact that I’m in a tree and I let Ena take a picture so close to my face and chin, shall we?

 

3 responses to “Day 21 – Wednesday

  1. Raina C. December 8, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    I cant see the gingerbread house pic…and yea “I dont rely on mirrors thats why I take polaroids”..lmao!…Clueless ..my favorite paramount movie : )

Leave a Reply

