Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 22 – Thursday

Ena - Day 22

Ena:I need more clothes.  I need more shoes.  I need more accessories.  Yes, it was one of those mornings, filled with “I wants” and “I needs” and utterly frustrating.  Sigh.  What is a poor, unsure, style-challenged girl to do? Sigh, again.

Today I have branched out.  I am wearing a print, something I rarely do, though I’m not sure why.  I think that the one word that best describes my style (and I use that term loosely) is simple, and – in my mind at least – prints don’t fit into the simple category.  This is another Goodwill purchase, and, as it’s a bit too big, will spend its tour in my wardrobe as an under-only top; that is, one that must be worn under something else.

I must say that I am enjoying the variety…and the collar – I’m having fun channeling my inner Murphy Brown.  This is Day 22, and I realize that I need to branch out more often and take more risks.  I’m probably just making excuses, but I swear my not-so-risky fashion choices are due to a lack of raw materials, not my ignorance and absolute terror.  Just wait, once I get my hands on more clothes, shoes, and accessories I will be an unstoppable, groundbreaking force of fashion…I swear.

Bina - Day 22

Bina: “Well, look at you, Miss Suzy Homemaker! What happened to Bohemian Barbie?!” My co-worker Jeanie, an older dizzy broad whom I love, exclaimed this to me this morning.  I’m not sure if that was the reaction I was going for, or what her qualifications for a Bohemian Barbie are.  In the summers, I definitely do tend towards throwing on flimsy sundresses, mostly because they are cool and easy.  So I guess that’s what she means.  Or maybe she just thinks I need to wash my hair more…

The skirt was another Goodwill purchase, and I’m glad I finally figured out a way to wear it.  Every day this week, I’ve pulled it out of the closet and looked at it, then put it back in exchange for something slightly “easier.”  I’m happy with what I’ve done with it today, pairing the polka-dotted skirt with my rarely worn poufy-sleeved seer-sucker blouse.  I think I was going for somewhat of a Parisian pin-up girl feel, although according to Jeanie, I look more like a 1950s housewife. Eh, close enough.

I would also like to ask how the hell Kim Kardashian wears these goddamn waist-cinching belts all the time?  While I enjoy that it makes my waist look smaller, I do not enjoy how it inhibits my breathing.  If I was some kind of corset-wearing courtesan in a past life, I am sure I would’ve wished that future incarnations of me would never have to undergo such cruelty.  But, oh the sacrifices people make for fashion!

Side note: Gingerbread voting is now under way. We’ll show you what we’re up against tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

