Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 25 – Tuesday

Ena - Day 25

Ena: Oh, when will I learn?  Today I am really out of my comfort zone.  I mean really…I can’t even see my comfort zone from here.  As noted in last Thursday’s post, I know that I need to take more risks and branch out more often.  So, I guess that’s what I’m doing today.  Yikes.

As has also been noted in previous posts, I seem to have some difficulty with planning ahead and/or leaving myself enough time to dress in the mornings.  In the past I have labeled these particular issues as serious shortcomings, things to be remedied if I am ever to get it together; however, today I present them in a different light.

Had I successfully planned ahead and/or left myself adequate time for dressing this morning I would have never left the house wearing this.  What’s the problem with that, right?  Believe me, I am none too thrilled with my appearance today – I was even heard muttering, “what am I wearing?” as I walked to my car this morning – but, if one of the points of this project is to learn by trying new looks and venturing into uncomfortable territory, I would never have accomplished that today if I did have it together.  So, it appears that there may actually be a method to my madness.  Who’d have thought?

Bina - Day 25

Bina: When I sit down to write my entry at the end of each day, I am always a bit unsure of what the hell it is that I am going to have to say.  I worry about things like being repetitive, if I’m sharing too much, or if it’s just plain boring.  But I guess I’ll just keep trying to write from the heart and see what happens.

I finally finished reading Eat Pray Love over the weekend.  Yes, several years after everyone else.  Partly because it has taken me literally a year and a half to finish the damn thing.  I read the Italy section quite a while ago, and had a hard time getting into it.  Then I picked it back up over Thanksgiving break and devoured India.  And then, Bali…oh, Bali.  I actually delayed reading the last 20 pages because I didn’t want it to be over.  I was finding it very comforting and a form of meditation in itself.  But finish it I did, and I’m glad.

Of course, this book was a hit.  Of course, women everywhere wish we could drop the turmoil in our everyday lives, and run away to Italy, India, and Bali for a year. We are not all able to afford such a luxury, and yet, we somehow all relate anyway.  We take from Elizabeth Gilbert’s lessons what we can.  I draw strength from the fact that she wrote about some of her intense lows along the way.  Of course, it somehow seems different when it’s all written in retrospect, and with the knowledge that it all gets better in the end.  I don’t have that knowledge, except as a form of faith.  That’s enough for now.

Today is a better day than yesterday.  I am comfortable.  I’m not pushing any style envelopes, but I feel good in my clothes.  This is my favorite shirt right now.  Well, it’s a lot of hipsters’ favorite shirt right now – I can nary go into a bar without at least 3 people matching me.  But I love it anyway – it reminds me of rain and camping and Seattle. And the boots give me strength and bad-ass swagger.  And these jeans, well, these jeans have just enough spandex in them to make my ass fucking sing.

Leave a Reply

