Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Inspiration: Nicole

This is our friend Nicole.  Nicole is always at the forefront of fashion and has an uncanny ability to discover the next big trend before it appears in magazines and on the internet; she is really quite something.  Nicole is never afraid to take fashion risks and continuously pushes the style envelope, inspiring us with her absolute fearlessness and bold choices.  Thank you Nicole for taking the time to tell us what motivates and inspires you, for your support of our project, and for being something of a fashion icon yourself.  Keep up the good work!

Nicole: I have a secret to tell you; I have a lover that gives me such joy and pleasure, the love that keeps me warm and makes me feel like no other.  Yup, you guessed it, it’s that wonderful thing called Haute Couture!!!  I’m in love with Fashion and I want to scream it from the top of the highest mountain.  This love began early in my childhood, when, at about the age of 5, I began watching my Mom.  I watched her get ready whether it was for work or just a day at the park with me, whether she was wearing knee high brown leather flat boots, a matching trench coat, and a turtle neck paired with a light brown gingham skirt, or just some high waisted jeans with a cashmere sweater.  She is and will always be my fashion icon.  Fashion is in my blood, it’s in my soul.  I have always tried to dress stylishly from Junior High with my Doc Martins and Depeche Mode t-shirt with a blazer and purple hair, to High school with my little fitted black dresses and slip on vans, to today wearing 6 inch heels to work and making sure everything I wear is day to night. I believe women should feel good about themselves and not allow anyone or anything to get in their way.

Besides my Mother, some of my other fashion inspirations have been Yves Saint Laurent, Jackie Kennedy Onassis, Bridgette Bardot, Alexander McQueen, and, of course, music.  I am inspired every day by my surroundings, my emotions, and my life.  I have always strived to work in the world of fashion where I can talk about it, be around it, and live it. My determination has paid off, and it wasn’t easy but I’m here. Still, it isn’t easy figuring out what my next outfit will be; should I wear a dress or a skirt, boots or heels?  And I also have days when I don’t want to take off my husband’s t-shirt and Juicy velour pants, because I’m bloated or I just don’t feel like it.  But the feeling I get when I slip my clothes on and do my hair and makeup makes me feel so amazing that it’s worth it. My sister (the makeup artist) once told me, “You must do your makeup because you never know who you will run into.”  I take her words to heart every day – I just might run into David Beckham and he just might leave Posh for me because I look so damn good!!!  No, not really.  But, it is true, you never know who’s looking.  At work I always want to look professional because who knows who they are looking at for that next promotion. I know that may sound wrong to some, but have you ever seen someone in a high position wearing Juicy velour pants and their husband’s skateboard t-shirt?  I’m just saying.

When I was younger I didn’t care about trends and styles, I just wore what I wore and that was that. Now that I’m in my thirties – 31 to be exact – I feel like I need to be aware of and up to date on the trends and styles.  I read tons of fashion blogs including nitrolicious.com and retrogirl.com, and magazines like Elle which is absolutely my favorite for women in their late 20’s and 30’s. Trends are hard to follow; not everyone can pull all of them off and some are strictly runway material.  For example, I’m short, so the over the knee leather boots style doesn’t work for me.  But that doesn’t stop me from trying to be stylish; I just look for trends that do work for me. You have to know your body too, and be comfortable with it.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that I’m totally comfortable with my body, but you have to know it so that you can learn what trends you are comfortable with and take it from there.

Trends can also get quite expensive, that’s why I only spend large sums of money on pieces that will be staples in my wardrobe for years and shop at inexpensive places like Forever 21 for the more trendy pieces.  Even though it can sometimes be a hassle, I always make sure to try stuff on and mix and match before purchasing to see what works best for me.  Just like with men, in order to know what works best for you, you MUST play around and try new things. I feel like style does come natural, everyone has it they, just need to recognize it, embrace it, and run with it.  My style has evolved over the years and even now I still come home sometimes, look at myself and say, “Ok this outfit is all wrong, OMG what was I thinking!”  I believe it’s ok to have those days; do you really think that you’re the only one that has those days?  Come on, even the best of the best go through it.

Bien s’habiller; English translation: Dressing Well.  It is what it is.  People may think they are dressed well when they aren’t, but who am I to say what dressing well is. I believe dressing well is about how it makes you feel, how it makes you walk a little taller, how it makes you strut.  I was Downtown last week for everyone’s all time favorite, Jury Duty, and there was this older woman who walked in wearing fur boots, a cheetah print skirt, and a see-thru low cut black top with a pink bra underneath.  I looked at her, shook my head and chuckled a bit, but I watched her as the day went on.  I was utterly annoyed with how my day was going, but this woman just sat there reading a book with a beautiful smile on her face, her heavily made up face.  We broke for lunch and I opted to take the stairs – something I would later regret.  As I put my sunglass on and started dialing my phone with the hope of finding someone to talk to so as to avoid being bothered by any of my fellow jurors, the woman walked up to me and said, “You look gorgeous; you’re dressed so well.”   I thanked her and before proceeding on my way I watched her walk across the street.  She wasn’t on a phone, she wasn’t trying to hide behind her sunglasses, instead she strutted to the crosswalk with a grin on her face saying hello to everyone and even stopping to give several homeless men change.  She looked like she didn’t have a worry in the world, like she was enjoying life in Downtown LA and all that it had to offer.  That day, she was trendy, a style Icon, a fashionista!!!  That day she made me believe that a warm smile and carefree spirit are all it takes to look well dressed.

Some of you may think that fashion is pointless or that it’s just clothes, but in the words of Anna Wintour, – who, by the way, is a god – “I think what I often see is that people are frightened about fashion.  Because it scares them or makes them feel insecure they just put it down.  On the whole, people that may say, mean things about our world I think that’s usually because they feel, in some ways, excluded or, you know, not a part of ‘the cool group’ so as a result they just mock it.”  I don’t dress to impress I dress to make an impression; whether it’s a good one or a bad one at least someone is taking notice.  I know it will be hard for some people to understand why fashion is a love of mine.  I just want all the readers to understand one thing; everyone has the fashionista in them. No matter what style, trend, or icon you follow, make it your own. Make your own style, make your own trends, be an icon. Magazines, blogs, and movies are just there to help. Think of all the great men and women back in the day who made it their own without the help of magazines, blogs, facebook, or other media. Make fashion your own everyday and you will make everyday your own!!!

Leave a Reply

