Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 47 – Wednesday

Ena: I’d like to begin today’s post by professing my love for…my jeans.  Yes, that’s right, my jeans; I love them and I want the world – or at least the 5 people who read this blog – to know.  If you are a man, this may sound crazy, but every woman should know and understand the euphoric joy that the perfect pair of jeans can inspire.  Yes, perfect; these are my perfect jeans, the ones I’ve been searching for what feels like a lifetime for.  I’ve finally found them.  I’ll take a dozen more, please.  Immediately.

Ha!  Now, if only I could find a few more (preferably less materialistic) things that would inspire me to such passionate declarations.  Passion is after all what I’m after.  I did feel a bit of passion (can one feel a bit passionate?  are there degrees of passion?) last night while listening to the state of the union address as I drove home from work.  Yes, I know that it is terribly clichéd to have your passion aroused by political speeches peppered with propaganda; that is, by design, what they are intended to do.  But, last night our President happened to mention two issues particularly important to me: service and education.

I firmly believe that in order for this country to become great – or at least better – we, regular average American citizens, need to get to work.  We need to replace our apathy with empathy, our hatred with understanding, our complaints with actions; we need to take responsibility for the state of our union.  Now don’t go getting all defensive, by “we” I mean me.  I am an apathetic angry complainer who is usually too lazy and selfish to walk the dog, forget about saving the country; that’s the point.

Since finishing school I have felt compelled to do something; no, not just something, something good.  I want to do something that will be meaningful to someone else.  I want to do my part to make my country – or at least my neighborhood – a better place.  I want to make a difference. 

For the past few years I have entertained the idea of becoming a teacher; a college prep high school English teacher to be exact.  I think that education is vital for success; the success of children and the success of nation.  I’m still not sure if I can be a teacher, but I am positive that I can become passionate about education; I just need to figure out how.  I’d like to figure it out soon because, according to Barack Obama, my country – and my neighborhood – needs me.

Bina: In honor of yesterday’s post, I present today’s look.  Why not?  This dress is a gift from Hawaii given to me by my beautiful mother.  My mother is in love with all things Hawaiian, and I’m thankful that she includes me now and again when she shops for herself. 

I have realized that I don’t ever really wear red.  I’m not sure why that is, because I actually think it’s a pretty good color for me.  Maybe it’s the boldness I was afraid of…not sure…but I should wear red more often.

Also, have you seen my shoes? I love them. I got them back in November for my BFF’s beach wedding.  According to Rachel Zoe, these are very “in” this season.  They are Charles David metallic espadrille platform wedges, and I got them on clearance for only 30 bucks.  I like how I can feel really tall wearing them, but they are sturdy enough that I don’t have to feel like Bambi.

For kicks and to celebrate the warm rays of sunshine pouring down on LA today, I decided to throw the little Tiare flower in my hair.  The Tiare flower is the emblem of Tahiti and is believed to relieve migraines and earaches, cure some forms of eczema and even heal wounds. Here’s hoping on that last one.

One response to “Day 47 – Wednesday

  1. Mom January 26, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    Great comments today Ena…enjoyed them immensely. Also, love that blouse :-)

Leave a Reply

