Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 50 – Monday

Ena - Day 50

Ena: Monday.  Due to the previously mentioned visiting co-workers, shmoozy-boozy events, and long, somewhat pointless meetings, this week’s posts may be short, rushed, completely nonsensical, or all of the above.  This is unfortunate as recent revelations have made me hyper-aware that people who we do not know are actually reading this blog (yay!) and that people who we do not know are actually reading my writing (yikes!)

Though I received both my BA and MA degrees in English-y areas (Linguistics and Composition/Rhetorical Theory, respectively, and no, English-y is not a real term), I am by no means a writer.  I suppose what I mean is that I am not a creative writer; given the choice between writing a research paper on the socioeconomics of modern China or a two page short story, I’d choose China, all the way.  Until recently, my idea of hell involved being forced to write and/or share personal anecdotes, I’d rather poke my eyes out with my pen.  I am from the old school, where it is commonly believed that “I” has no place in proper composition…or, at least, I used to be.

Along with attempting to dress stylishly, posing for pictures, sharing my feelings, and pretty much everything else that this blog involves, one of the most challenging aspects of this project has been writing in a style that I am completely unfamiliar and entirely uncomfortable with.  My difficulties, both personal and mechanical, with this type of writing are made infinitely worse by the limited amount of time that we have to write and edit each day’s post.  This probably sounds like an excuse for bad writing…well, it is.

I have been reading a lot of fashion blogs lately which is both a good and a bad thing.  On one hand, it is very inspiring to read about and see what others are wearing and to learn about what inspires them.  On the other hand, it makes me feel like poo.  Unlike some of my favorite bloggers, I am not creative.  I don’t sew, or draw, or design clothes.  I don’t know how to use technology and I can’t create the perfect blog.  I don’t have fancy camera equipment, or a photographer boyfriend, or endless amounts of time to work on each post.  I am not terribly eloquent nor am I blessed with a gift for prose.  I am not perfect – try to contain your surprise – and I never will be, so please, don’t expect too much.

On a brighter note, though I did not make it to the Library this weekend – I was too busy catching up on Top Chef which, as it turns out, may be my passion after all – I did make it out shopping and finally picked up a pair of opaque black tights.  I needed the tights to wear with this dress which I bought on a recent trip to Target, and overall I am happy with the way today’s outfit turned out.  I am not, however, happy with the way today’s pictures turned out, and I plan to try much harder tomorrow.  Hey, I may not be perfect but at least I can try.

Bina - Day 50

Bina: Today has been a crazy day.  I guess I’ve been far too busy to dwell on my fragile mental state and the hours have flown by, so it’s kind of a good thing.  I’ve been immersed in excel spreadsheet hell for several hours and my eyes are quite tired right now.  It seems that with our new professional looks comes more responsibilities and meetings, who knew?

This dress is another gift from my Mom from Hawaii.  I love these kinds of comfortable dresses – although I have been a little lazy with footwear.  I really wanted to be comfy today, and I am, albeit freezing.  One other thing I’d like to note – my jean jacket.  I’ve worn this jacket a few times now, but I feel it’s worth mentioning that prior to beginning this project, I had never worn it.  Never.  I actually somehow inherited it as it was left behind at my apartment many moons ago, and after asking around for its owner, I claimed the jacket as my own.  And it has hung in my closet for about 3 years, I think.

Today’s pictures are not so great. They were super-rushed and we were also nearly caught red-handed snapping pics by a bunch of sales people who are visiting from overseas. Yikes! Talk about embarrassing!  Yes, we have become known, I’m fairly certain, as those two weird girls who snap pictures of themselves in strange locations around the lot.

So I didn’t actually go to that meditation class this weekend like I had said I was going to do.  (Bad Bina!) But I did procure a pamphlet and have pinpointed a few sessions that would be perfect for me (i.e. Why We Get Unhappy and Transforming Painful Feelings).  I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

