Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 51 – Tuesday

Ena: Ok, as I have worn variations of this outfit more times than I’d like to admit, today I will talk about some wardrobe related issues that I have become aware of since beginning this project.  First, there’s the one I am currently experiencing which is bugging the heck out of me, static.  No, I am not an imbecile.  Yes, I have known about static for quite some time, but this is different.  Static has always been a nuisance when it comes to clingy hair (you thin-haired people will know what I’m talking about) and electric shocks, but, now that I am branching out into new fabrics, I am learning that it can really ruin your day. 

For instance, today I planned to wear something completely different, but, as has happened so many times before, my plans were dashed by reality and I walked out of the house wearing this.  In the past I have worn soft cotton leggings with this dress, but I already had these new spandex-y ones on so I thought “same diff” and headed to work.  I now know that spandex-y material and polyester are in love and, once bonded, nearly impossible to separate.  I discovered this when, having arrived at my office after a brisk walk from the parking garage, I looked in the mirror and discovered that my dress was stuck to my thighs creating a sort of paisley bike-shorts look.  Not quite what I was going for.

Secondly, there’s the dangerous heel slippage that occurs when wearing tights with most shoes.  Yesterday, on my trek from parking garage to office I realized that if I walked normally, my heels (made unusually slick by the tights I was wearing) slipped out of my normally well-fitting shoes.  Quickly realizing that I would likely not make it through the day alive – or, at least, uninjured – I texted Bina and asked her to bring me some sort of shoe insert.  Meanwhile I cleaned out the first-aid kit, sticking ten band-aids around the heel area of each shoe and praying that I wouldn’t have to get up until Bina got to work.  Thankfully, Bina arrived with the inserts and the day passed without injury to anyone; had someone cut themselves, I would have felt awful.

These are not the only two wardrobe issues that I have experienced since beginning this project; there has been knee-bunching, shirt-gaping, unsteady-walking, and countless other problems.   I realize that these issues are bound to come up as I venture into uncharted fashion territory, and that eventually I will be able to anticipate problems before they occur.  However, to be on the safe side while learning these valuable lessons, I have decided to create an outfit emergency kit to keep in my office.  So far, I plan to include dryer sheets (or some type of static eliminator, any suggestions?), shoe inserts of various sizes and styles, fabric tape, an extra pair of leggings/tights, clear nail polish, and…that might be it.  Because I am new to this whole fashion thing, and because, frankly, I fear for my safety, any suggestions for outfit emergency kit items would be greatly appreciated.  Who knows, your suggestion may save a life…or, at least, an outfit.

Bina: I’ve been thinking a lot lately about moving back to Texas.  This is something I always planned on doing eventually – even if I had struck metaphoric gold in the movie business, I always wanted to have a home there.  But lately it’s definitely been at the forefront of my thoughts.  And because I’ve been struggling so much recently, sometimes I wonder to myself what I’m still doing here.

I’m not pursuing acting anymore so that’s not it.  I have a few friends here, but I’m not in a committed relationship or marriage and I don’t have any kids, so that’s not it.  I don’t own a home; I rent an apartment so that’s not it.  I don’t really like my job that much (though I like the people and the perks) so that’s not it.  I have grown to like LA just fine but I don’t love it, so that’s not it.  I think I’m having a hard time lately coming up with a good reason to be here any longer when I miss my family so much.

Well, there is the one reason I had been using for a while – screenwriting.  But I’ve been so depressed that I haven’t even opened Final Draft in months.  And though I feel like I have a good voice and some great ideas, I just don’t know if it’s worth it to keep pursuing this.  I’d like to give it a fair shake, so I don’t leave this weirdo city with regrets.  But that means I have to actually get the damn second draft done.  No one else is going to do it for me. 

There. That is one goal I am setting right now.  Before I leave this bizarre city of angels, my writing partner and I will finish a second draft that I can be proud of.  After that, I think I’ll know when it’s time.

4 responses to “Day 51 – Tuesday

  1. christine February 1, 2011 at 3:46 pm

    don’t leave before next summer because we still have to surf! and don’t you dare leave without giving me a fair amount of warning… i would miss my BFF who happens to be 1 of 3 friends that i even have in this gigantic city. :-(

  2. ellinor forje February 3, 2011 at 3:11 am

    It’s a very nice outfit. I love it against the green. Thanks for sharing and drop by me too when you have time.

    Cheers.

  3. Kate February 3, 2011 at 8:44 pm

    Static guard! You should be able to find it near the laundry detergent/dryer sheets in Target, and it works miracles for static cling.

Leave a Reply

