Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 68 – Friday

Ena: Another cold, wet Friday morning standing in front of my still chaotic closet wondering what to wear.  This morning my desire to be warm and comfortable far outweighed my desire to be stylish, and so I settled on this not particularly stylish but exceptionally warm and comfortable outfit.  Yes, it is semi-boring, but today I don’t really care; I can feel my toes, so I’m a happy girl.

I am wearing my perfect jeans, the only waterproof coat that I own, a pair of Toms that I bought several years ago but have hardly worn, a super rad glass ring given to me by my beautiful sister, and this sweater, hands down the most amazing item of clothing that I have ever purchased at a thrift-store.  One hundred percent cashmere, this sweater is so warm and soft, when I wear it I feel like I’m snuggled up in a blanket.  The details, like the zipper in the back, the ribbing, the mock neck, and the subtle design around the arms, prevent it from feeling ordinary.  And the color, oooh the color (I may have finally conquered my fear of yellow); it is bright and sunny, and – as lame as this sounds – it reminds me of my childhood teddy bear and makes me wildly happy.  This sweater is, in short, divinity.

Though the rain is supposed to last a few more days, I am very much looking forward to this weekend.  My boyfriend and I are making the hour and a half trek to Palm Springs to visit my Grandparents who have come down from central California to escape the bad weather (go figure) and visit my Uncles.  While my boyfriend and my Grandpa golf, my Grandma and I will happily scour the area’s many unique and incredibly well stocked thrift-stores – seriously, they’re unparalleled.  The joy that this six dollar Goodwill sweater has brought me today is all the motivation I need, I’m ready to get out there and hunt down some more amazing deals.  I’m really looking forward to seeing my Grandparents and my Uncles; I love my family and I don’t get to see them nearly as much as I’d like.  Rain be damned, this is gonna be a great weekend.  I’m so excited, I cannot wait.

Bina: I didn’t mean to scare or alarm anyone with yesterday’s post, especially my adorably awesome Mom; I’m just working through a hard time right now.  But I do have faith that things will get better.  I have faith in myself that I can get through this and come out stronger on the other side.  Because now, I will always know what this feels like, and hopefully one day not so far from now, I’ll be able to look back on this time and truly appreciate being a happy, healthy person.

And now I will always have empathy for people who are going through a difficult time. (Of course, according to some, I have too much empathy already.)  During my panic-stricken day on Wednesday, I mentioned my horribly-timed screening of the film, A Serious Man. There is at least one good thing that came from watching that not-so-feel-good movie. It opens with this quote, “Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you” – Rashi.  It has stuck with me, and I remembered it last night when I was having trouble falling asleep because I was too busy worrying. I remembered that quote and thought to myself repeatedly like a mantra, “Worry doesn’t do any good.” It actually helped.

I woke up this morning and things seemed a little brighter, despite the overcast sky. I wanted to be warm because of the rain, and I had plans to hit Little Tokyo for lunch with Ena and another coworker. It’s only fitting then that I reached for this little number my mother brought me from Big Tokyo last year. It’s soft and awesome and has pockets! And it still had the tags on it. (It also came with a rather strange scarf-type thing that I decided against wearing. Oh, Japanese fashion!) I threw on some fun tights and debated throwing on a belt but opted to give myself a break; then I debated throwing on heels but gave myself a break on that one too. It’s Friday after all, and I deserve it.

2 responses to “Day 68 – Friday

Leave a Reply

