Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 69 – Monday

Ena - Day 69

Ena: Unfortunately, I have to keep today’s post fairly short, though I am wearing a relatively boring outfit so I suppose it’s really not too unfortunate.  I had a fantastic weekend visiting with my family in Palm Springs.  The weather was dry and a bit chilly, perfect for shopping, which we did…a lot.  My Grandma and I hit the thrift-stores like a couple of linebackers; the deals were great and never ending.  Seriously, if you like thrifting, get down to Palm Springs toot sweet.

We arrived home a little on the late side last night and I woke up a lot on the late side this morning, so I really had no time to experiment with my new purchases, which is why I am wearing this.  I am, however, wearing a gold-ish bracelet that I bought at the Goodwill in Palm Desert.  The bracelet is slightly tarnished, but I like the effect, it feels more antique-y.

Overall, the weekend’s shopping trips were a complete success.  I absolutely cannot wait to show off my finds, some of which absolutely blew my mind…stay tuned for the most exciting thrift-store find ever.  The awesome shopping was closely rivaled by the life-changing glass of freshly squeezed grapefruit juice that I had last night courtesy of my Uncle Mike; no kidding, it was crazy good.  As great as the shopping and juice were, the company was even better; Grandpa, Grandma, Uncle Mike, and Uncle Rodger, thank you for everything, we miss you already!

Bina - Day 69

Bina: Saturday night, for the first time in months, I went OUT. I put on my outfit from Day 59 and headed to a swanky newly-opened Hollywood bar with a few friends. I arrived at Kristin’s place early for the carpool. She asked me if I’d like a drink, and I politely declined, saying that I would probably be taking it easy this evening. Famous last words.

We went over to the new bar on Hollywood Blvd, and I ordered an Aviation from Alexis. Before I knew it, I consumed the tasty gin beverage and a Lavender Gimlet was placed in front of me.  Delicious. And Dangerous.

I felt a tap on my shoulder, and I turned to see an old flame. Yes, “flame” is the word I will use to describe this guy who I dated briefly and liked a lot at the time even though he would prove to be flaky and self-involved. If I had run into him a year ago, I wouldn’t have been too excited about the prospect of seeing him, but on this night, I felt just fine about it. He sat down next to me at the bar, told me I looked good, asked if I’d lost weight, etc. He also asked why I hadn’t returned any of his calls or text messages.

You see, he had called and texted at least 4 times in the last few weeks, always after 10pm, and frankly, I found it a bit offensive. Thus, no reply.  And I got the explanation for why he was suddenly trying to reach me – he was newly single.  Aha.  I told him that I found his text messages offensive, but still I flirted.  And I’ll be honest, it felt great.  It felt great to know that this guy no longer had an emotional hold on me; it felt great to know I looked good and that he wanted me; it felt great to know I had the power.

I flirted and flirted and flirted over a few more Lavender Gimlets. And then…I went home. And I felt like maybe…just maybe, I could do it – I could date again. Not that guy obviously. But I thank him for being there that night and letting me exercise my flirting muscles, even if I now realize he’s a giant Black & Decker Tool Sack.  At least now I can see it clearly. Ah, hindsight.

And apparently I felt so sassy this morning, I dressed like a Go-Go dancer.

3 responses to “Day 69 – Monday

  1. sofi March 1, 2011 at 7:46 am

    Sounds like a good time. I like the all black look. Whenever I wear all black my bf always calls me Johnny Cash, lol.

    Weekend shopping trips, ftw!

  2. Cheeles March 1, 2011 at 9:41 am

    Tools should be locked in a box and kept in the basement.

Leave a Reply

