Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 76 – Wednesday

Ena - Day 76

Ena: It’s Ash Wednesday, Lent is upon us.  Did you make any Lenten sacrifices?  I did, but they’re not really very good.  It’s hard to choose something to give up when you don’t really have any vices.  I thought about giving up dairy (my arch nemesis), but my boyfriend put up a fight; Lent really is harder when you live with someone.  I also thought about abstaining from shopping for 40 days, but, due to the nature of this project, I decided against that – I have to respect the process, right?

Getting pictures today was difficult to say the least.  The lot is abuzz with activity and it seemed that every spot we tried was already in use.  We also had some trouble with the light; it’s very sunny and bright here today and most of the pictures were either washed out or full of shadows.  The thing that I am most disappointed about is that the color of my pants really doesn’t come through at all.  These pants are powder-blue and they look lovely with this top, the colors are really great…you’ll just have to take my word for it.

Bina - Day 76

Bina: “Why not keep things in the 80s? Those are back, right?” Well, that’s how I reassured myself this morning as I got dressed. I picked up this black-and-hot-pink-striped jersey number for 10 bucks at Forever21 and while they seem to have already pulled all of their tights (my new addiction) for Spring, I found these bright turquoise beauties at The Icing – who are still well-stocked in a variety of styles and colors – you know, if you’re in the market for that sort of thing.

I was so nervous walking from my car to our building this morning that I hid everything behind my trench coat. It wasn’t until I saw Ena in our office, unveiled my get-up, and got her approval that I wasn’t completely scandalous and ridiculous that I started walking around in all my Bright-and-Tight 80s glory. Um, yeah, this dress and these tights are not for wallflowers. They are attention-getters – maybe a little too much attention. But I do feel good about myself, nonetheless, and have received many compliments and greetings. In fact, I was grabbing a hazelnut latte at The Coffee Bean this morning, and Madonna’s “Material Girl” came on over the speakers; I actually found myself dancing in line.  Totally weird, but I thought the song was apropos.

What does it mean that I’ve become this passionate about fashion? Does it mean I’m now a superficial high-maintenance material girl? I hope not. I prefer to think I’m taking pride in myself and my appearance. Maybe being a little high-maintenance is a good thing – I am taking care of myself in a way that I had stopped doing over the last few years – inside and out.

One other material thing you may have noticed – I finally got a haircut! It’s still fairly long, but she chopped off 5 inches of dead hair.  In some cultures, the act of cutting your hair is the cutting off of the flow of thought; you sever away past thoughts from future deeds. Cutting one’s hair usually occurs when one chooses to make a major change in one’s life, putting past misdeeds behind them, and beginning a new life. Awesome. I do feel a little lighter.

Leave a Reply

