Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 83 – Friday

Ena - Day 83

Ena: Today is Friday.  I’m sure you already knew that, but I wanted to say it anyway.  Today is also the first day that I have worn my new-to-me maxiskirt.  I picked up this skirt while thrift shopping in Palm Springs with my Grandma a few weeks back and I really like it.

A maxiskirt was on my thrift shopping wish list, something I was specifically looking for.  Maybe I’m just naïve, but I was completely shocked by how hard it was to find an acceptable maxiskirt; by that I mean one that does not have palm trees printed all over it or tassels hanging from the waist band.  I finally found this one at the Goodwill in Palm Desert.  I wasn’t completely sold on it and I almost didn’t buy it, but now I am so glad that I did.  I love the fabric (is it silk, satin, cotton, polyester…who knows), it’s soft and light and perfect for Spring and Summer.  Yay.

I am really looking forward to this weekend; it is supposed to be a bit overcast and chilly, perfect weather for some much needed couch time.  I am also looking forward to it because Saturday I am taking my GAB training course.  I will finally be able to begin my career as a Los Angeles Public Library volunteer, I am through the roof.  I can’t wait, I’ll tell you all about it on Monday.  Double yay.

Bina - Day 83

Bina: After yesterday’s pathetic display, I was determined to put on a better show today, if only for my own gratification. For one thing, I set 3 alarms and actually woke up at a proper time today. Secondly, I straightened and brushed my hair. Thirdly, I knew what I wanted to wear. I’m still a big fan of this little $20 dress and these bright turquoise tights. They make me happy just looking at them; they are springtime to me. And the colorful, sparkly bangles (though hard to see in the pics) are from India.

My Pops comes back from India next week. I’ve missed him, even though normally he would still be in Texas anyway. But it feels different when your loved one is on the other side of the globe as opposed to just a couple time zones away, especially when the world feels somewhat apocalyptic. It’s comforting to know he’ll be home with my Mom soon.

As you probably know, India still has a somewhat active caste system. We are Rajputs; Rajput is from the Sanskrit word Raja-putra (son of a king). Considered to descend from the ancient Hindu ruling warrior dynasties of Northern India, the Chauhans were one of the first Rajput clans to rise to prominence. Our reputation precedes us as hot-blooded and short-tempered. In fact, during colonization, the British deemed the Rajputs a “martial race.” They used this term to describe ethnic groups that were thought to be naturally warlike and aggressive in battle and to possess qualities like courage, loyalty, self sufficiency, physical strength, resilience, orderliness, a hard working nature, a fighting tenacity, and military strategy. The British recruited heavily from these “martial races” for service in the colonial army.

As I mentioned some characteristics from my Japanese lineage recently, I thought it only fair to share a glimpse of the other side of my coin. Sometimes I feel like such an anomaly – as if two very, very different cultures clashed and made me. I was born on a cusp; people seem to never be able to figure me out, ethnically or otherwise; astrological readers are befuddled. Sometimes, it seems, my existence just doesn’t make any sense. Maybe lineage and astrology is a bunch of hooey. Or maybe I’m just special – aren’t we all?

OR I AM AN ALIEN.

2 responses to “Day 83 – Friday

  1. Laura March 19, 2011 at 7:50 pm

    Bina, I think you’re just beyond labels and your essence will not be pigeonholed. That’s my take. :)

Leave a Reply

