Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 90 – Tuesday

Ena - Day 90

Ena: Here I am in my Thakoon dress – would ya look at that?!  When I bought this dress at Target a few weeks back I wasn’t sure that I’d have the guts to wear it before this project is over (more on that later), but I did and boy am I glad I did.  Getting dressed this morning, I was thinking the same thing I thought in the dressing room at Target, “Wow, this dress is beautiful but there’s no way I can pull this off.”  As you’ve likely gathered by now, I am not really a print wearer; I have on occasion been known to rock a printed shirt, but never something like this…not even remotely close.

Walking into work this morning, I was feeling apprehensive (to say the least), and it wasn’t until Bina arrived and gave me the thumbs up that I began to relax.  And, right now, after having walked around like this for the last eight hours, I can’t believe that I ever considered not buying this dress.  Who am I?  Seriously?  I feel like me, but every time I catch a glimpse of myself I think, “Who is that terribly chic, incredibly confident woman?”  Oh, alright…and, “Wow!  That’s some crazy dress!”

Today is Day 90, ten more days of Passionless Fashion to go.  I would be lying if I didn’t admit to having mixed emotions with respect to reaching the end.  I’m still not sure exactly how I feel about this whole thing.  But, right now, I am absolutely sure that I have come a long way and that all of the changes – aesthetic and otherwise –I’ve undergone during the course of this project have been positive and have made me a happier, more fulfilled person.  So, here’s to making the home stretch count; there’s still lots to accomplish by Day 100, things could get…more interesting.

Bina - Day 90

Bina: Hi. Do you need a ruffle? Cuz I think I might have a few to spare.

When I walked out of the house this morning, I felt a pang of fear. Maybe these socks are too costume-y? What if I look completely ridiculous? What’s up with this bun on top of my head? Is my lipstick too bright?  Seriously, I don’t think I realized until I saw the pictures how many ruffles are happening here. There’s the ruffles on the Forever21 sweater, the ruffle at the bottom of the skirt, and then, of course, the ruffles on the lacy socks. I just want to state that I did not realize how frilly these socks are! I think I’d like something more along these lines, but what the heck, I had picked up this cheap pair at The Icing, and after Ena and Renah gave me a pep talk, I tried to rock them the best I could. It’s been a little scary realizing I may be dressed like a Naughty Secretary on Halloween.

To make myself feel better, I am now going to recall a few of the encouraging comments I have received in the last week. This morning, as I treaded lightly in my frilly socks to the commissary for coffee, I heard a long whistle. A male co-worker flamboyantly exclaimed, “Damn!!! You look so cuuuuuuute!” I breathed a little easier, extremely appreciative of a gay man’s seal of approval.

Yesterday, a hetero male co-worker came to my office to tell me he thought I would “get discovered one of these days on the lot, walkin’ around all glamorous in your sunglasses.”

“Annie Hall! I love it!” It is amazing how iconic this look is. Throw on a tie, and people will start calling you Annie Hall, too. Also, men seem to love a woman in a tie. I think it’s some kind of kinky gender-reversal thing; and I think we’ve all seen Pretty Woman. Hell-o. Sexy.

At the end of yesterday, after we read each other’s entries, Ena said she was jealous of my newly organized closet. I told her that I was feeling guilty for not doing something more humanitarian than cleaning; we discussed how gutting my closet was actually good for me. And Ena said something to me that resonated, “A better you is better for the universe.” That’s true. If I’m healthier and stronger, I’ll be more able to continue truly helping others down the road. Although I must admit I get a secret, shallow satisfaction out of seeing heads turn in my direction, because it means I am exuding confidence, and, for me, selfishly, that’s real progress.


One response to “Day 90 – Tuesday

  1. Cheeles March 30, 2011 at 10:15 am

    Ladies, you are both lookin fabulous today, as usual. I can’t believe this blog is coming to a close! Sadness! So proud you you guys!!

Leave a Reply

