Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 91 – Wednesday

Ena - Day 91

Ena: The thermometer was projected to top out around 80 degrees today here in Los Angeles, so I decided to wear one of my favorite sleeveless tops.  I bought this top last summer at Martin + Osa; it was on sale and I should have bought one in every color, but I wasn’t thinking.  I really like the cut, though sometimes I think it may be a bit too sexy for work.  Isn’t it funny how revealing a little skin makes me feel like I’m being risqué – like, “oh look, a shoulder!”

As we near the end of our little project, I am feeling some pressure to perform; nine days left, better make ’em count.  To be perfectly honest, I hadn’t really given much thought to our final days until recently.  In fact, the enormity of Day 100 is only now beginning to sink in.  It should be huge, right?  I should go all out, balls to the wall, pull out all the stops, right?  I suppose I should, and I would, if I had any idea what that meant.  Ah well, I’m sure I’ll come up with something.

Bina - Day 91

Bina: I want to scream from the rooftops, or at least my office, “This skirt was only 2 dollars!!! The belt was a buck!!!” I have that sickness wherein I like to tell everyone how much things are, especially when the items are particularly cheap. Maybe it’s the Indian side in me, who knows? Anyway, yes, this very bright red vintage skirt (somewhat reminiscent of Ena’s on Day 77) and the red canvas/brown leather belt were both found at the ol’ Glendale Goodwill. Ena proclaimed the skirt to be the best thrift purchase I have made – EVER. I also found a similar turquoise one (also for $2) and I plan to wear it in the next 9 work days, since that is all we have left! OMG.

So, dating, huh? As you may recall, a few weeks ago, I mentioned that I had a first date, followed a couple weeks later by a second date. I’m not going to go into too many specifics but I wanted to say that I had a great time on those dates. I felt confident, sexy, funny, smart, and myself. I thought, “I can do this.” It felt good to be out; it felt good to be treated like a lady; it felt good to know my worth. He was a set-up, through friends, which is probably the closest I will ever get to an arranged marriage. It was my first set-up ever, and I think it went rather well. That being said, I’ve opted out of a third date. Not because there was anything wrong with him, on the contrary, my friends managed to pick a perfect gentleman and genuinely kind person; I’m just not sure I’m healed enough quite yet to give up my selfish soul-searching quest. But I feel that I am moving in the right direction.

Something weird happened after I had the realization that I wasn’t ready to go on a third date. Tears sprang to my eyes. I honestly said out loud, “What is happening to me???”

“What’s the matter?!” Ena exclaimed, confused.

“I don’t know. Empathy, maybe?”

I cried for him. I cried for me. I cried for everyone who is looking for the one. And then I got over it, and got back to work.

Leave a Reply

