Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Daily Archives: March 31, 2011

Day 92 – Thursday

Ena - Day 92

Ena: So, today I am like, what…an urban commando?  It may be hard to believe, but I really didn’t think of this print as camouflage when I bought the dress, but today, especially after looking at the photos, it seems to be an obvious association.  Oh well, I really, really love this dress; the color, the print, the material, the cut, the $11.50 price tag, I love it all.  Who cares if I would blend into the jungle?  It could come in handy some day.

I am also wearing a new pair of wedges for the first time today.  I bought these wedges for an event and I thought that today would be the perfect day to take them for a test drive; so far, so good.  Though they may very well be the most heightening shoes I own, they are comfortable and sturdy enough to make them a good, smart buy.

Today was the perfect day for me to test drive my new wedges because today I am leaving early.  Today is opening day in major league baseball, one of the happiest days of the year, and I am going to Dodger Stadium to watch as the Dodgers defeat the hated San Francisco Giants.  I am so excited I can barely contain myself; it’s like that Christmas morning, butterflies-in-your-stomach, anticipation-induced joyfully-nauseous feeling I’m sure most of you have experienced.  Don’t worry, I’m going home first to change into more comfortable and appropriate attire, and then it’s off to the park.  Yay baseball, yay Dodgers, I’m thinking blue!

Bina - Day 92

Bina: Well, sports fans, it’s a scorcher! Today, the thermometer was predicted to hit 90 and that’s about how it feels too. And, for once, I am appropriately dressed for this early summer weather. This is another cheap little Hawaiian dress given to me by my hula-lovin’ mother, and the fabric is so light and airy, it is sheer heaven in this heat. I was a little nervous it was actually sheer too, but Ena reassured me that my look was rated PG. Combining my klutzy history with a white dress and tall wedges was a high risk, but one I was willing to take at this point in the game. Thus far, I have not fallen into a vat of grape jelly – but the day ain’t over yet.

I have gotten a few comments from people, telling me they are jealous of what I am wearing because it looks so cool and refreshing. I feel cool and refreshing. I also feel like I should be on vacation in Hawaii! Oooh. That sounds divine. I’d also like to be eating a sno-cone on the beach right now. Okay, enough fantasizing. Back to reality.

There’s a line people often quote from a Sheryl Crow song, “It’s not having what you want, it’s wanting what you’ve got.” I didn’t get it; it made no sense! But I think I sorta get it now. This morning, I woke up to the oldies station, and went to the kitchen for a glass of water. As I looked outside my window to the clear blue sky, sunshine, and palm trees swaying in the breeze, I felt appreciative. I felt grateful that I live here; I even felt a little proud of myself. Just because I could look outside and see a palm tree.

A few months ago, I did not appreciate the palm trees outside my window. I felt like I didn’t appreciate anything. I was drowning, and I didn’t know if I’d survive another day in this city. I’m doing much better now. However, while I can now appreciate living in LA, I will never be a Lakers fan. So while Ena’s rooting for her Dodgers tonight, I’ll be tuned into basketball and rooting for the Dallas Mavericks – cuz you can take the girl out of Texas but you can’t take the douche out of the Lakers!