Passionless Fashion

transforming our lives by transforming our wardrobes

Day 98 – Monday

Ena - Day 98

Ena: Well, here are the bottom half of my unclothed legs.  Here they are.  No big deal, right?  Wrong.  This is a big deal, a very big deal – for me.  I feel naked, and exposed, and self-conscious, and cold, and yet, oddly free…but mostly naked and self-conscious.  I also feel bright, very bright, like a walking endangerment to anyone suffering from Photosensitive Epilepsy.  Watch out.

Further to last Thursday’s post, I have some more good news to report on the volunteer front.  Besides the folks at 826LA, it appears that I have also fooled the good people at the LAPL who have looked into my background and cleared me to begin my stint as a member of the GAB program.  I hope to begin volunteering at the Arroyo Seco Regional Library as early as this Saturday.  The GAB program provides an invaluable service to the youth of Los Angeles and the community as a whole, and I am thrilled to have the opportunity to lend it my support.

Alright, before you ask, the answer is no.  No, Bina and I did not do this on purpose, it just happened; we did not discuss our outfits before work this morning, though, given our past history, perhaps we should have been in the habit of consulting one another prior to heading out every day.  Today only serves as further evidence that our outfit cycles have, in fact, synched up.  It’s pretty funny actually, and we have been turning heads (and likely blinding people) everywhere we go.  Another unforeseen joy of our little project – causing mass confusion, not seizures.

P.S. Of course you know that I’m joking about the background checks, right?  Though far from maternal, I am by no means a threat to children – at least, not in any real way.

P.S.S. I’d like to send a major shout out of congratulations to my amazingly inspirational Mom and Sister who participated in the Seattle Glee Flash Mob this weekend!  Their beautiful faces (and mad dance skills) can be seen in the “Capitol Hill” dance which begins around the 3 minute mark.  Very well done guys, wish I could have been there with you!

Bina - Day 98

Bina: *So not only have our fashion cycles synched up, but it seems our writing cycles have synchronized as well. This is what happens when two women share an office together for at least 40 hours a week, and decide to embark on a fashion project spanning 100 work days. We were bound to wind up thinking alike a few times, but today’s coordinating outfits are perhaps the most embarrassing.  Because we have both made fairly bold choices with color, it felt extra attention-grabbing when the pair of us walked across the lot to yoga together. Or maybe we’re just too self-conscious? Hmmm, no, I think we look pretty damn loud, as in, “Hey! Look at us! We’re bright! And we kinda match!” It’s like we’re assaulting your senses.

I’m doing kind of a coral and turquoise combo and Ena is rocking electric pink and blue; I think we were both aiming for Springtime looks. I received some validation on this when a woman at the printer told me, “You look like Spring!” I’ve been seeing this color combination all over magazines and style blogs; once I found this skirt at the Goodwill, I thought it might be fun to try pairing it with this offbeat top from the Asian-designer grab bag. It’s weird, but these colors actually do make me feel happier.

And it makes me extra happy to look at Ena’s outfit today! I’m so glad she’s finally showing those gams off to the world! Yay! I’d also like to take a moment to say how grateful I am for her. Ena and I came into each other’s lives for many reasons, and I know in my heart that one of those reasons was this harebrained little scheme of ours.

Leave a Reply

